Christopher Hogwood

Please add an image!
Birth Date:
Death date:
Length of life:
Days since birth:
Years since birth:
Days since death:
Years since death:
Extra names:
Кристофер Хогвуд, Кристофер Джарвис Хэйли Хогвуд, Christopher Jarvis Haley Hogwood
Conductor, Nobleman, landlord, Professor
Set cemetery

Christopher Jarvis Haley Hogwood CBE (10 September 1941 – 24 September 2014) was an English conductor, harpsichordist, writer, musicologist and founder of the Academy of Ancient Music.


Born in Nottingham, Hogwood studied music and classical literature at Pembroke College, Cambridge. He went on to study performance and conducting under Raymond Leppard, Mary Potts and Thurston Dart; and later with Rafael Puyana and Gustav Leonhardt. He also studied in Prague with Zuzana Ruzickova for a year, under a British Council scholarship.

In 1967, Hogwood founded the Early Music Consort with David Munrow, and in 1973 he founded the Academy of Ancient Music, specializing in performances of Baroque and early Classical music with period instruments. The Early Music Consort was disbanded following Munrow's death in 1976, but Hogwood continued to perform and record with the Academy of Ancient Music.

From 1981, Hogwood conducted regularly in the United States. He was Artistic Director of Boston's Handel and Haydn Society from 1986 to 2001, and for the remainder of his life held the title of Conductor Laureate. From 1983 to 1985 he was artistic director of the Mostly Mozart Festival in the Barbican Centre in London. From 1988 to 1992, he was musical director of the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra in Minnesota.

Hogwood conducted a considerable amount of opera. He made his operatic debut in 1983, conducting Don Giovanni in St. Louis, Missouri. He worked with Berlin State Opera; La Scala, Milan; Royal Opera Stockholm; the Royal Opera House at Covent Garden, Chorégies d'Orange and Houston Grand Opera. With Opera Australia, he performed Idomeneo in 1994 and La Clemenza di Tito in 1997. In 2009, he returned to the Royal Opera House to conduct the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment in Purcell's Dido and Aeneas, and Handel's Acis and Galatea. 2009 also saw him conducting Stravinsky's The Rake's Progress at the Teatro Real in Madrid, in a production directed by Robert Lepage. In late 2010 and early 2011, he conducted a series of performances of Mozart's The Marriage of Figaro at Zurich Opera House.

On 1 September 2006, harpsichordist Richard Egarr succeeded Hogwood as Music Director of the Academy of Ancient Music and Hogwood assumed the title of Emeritus Director. Hogwood said he expected to conduct 'at least one major project' with the Academy each year. He conducted the Academy in a series of concert performances of Handel operas which began in 2007 with Amadigi. 2008 saw performances of Flavio, and the series concluded in May 2009, the Handel anniversary, with Arianna in Creta. In 2013 he conducted the Academy in Imeneo.

Although Hogwood was best known for the baroque and early classical repertoire, he also performed contemporary music, with a particular affinity for the neo-baroque and neoclassical schools including many works by Stravinsky, Martinů and Hindemith.

He made many solo recordings of harpsichord works, including (Louis Couperin, J. S. Bach, Thomas Arne, William Byrd's My Lady Nevells Booke) and did much to promote the clavichord in the Secret Bach/Handel/Mozart series of recordings, which puts in historical context the most common domestic instrument of that epoch. He owned a collection of historical keyboard instruments.

By the end of his life, Hogwood was Honorary Professor of Music in the University of Cambridge, Consultant Visiting Professor of historical performance in the Royal Academy of Music and visiting professor at King's College London. He was an Honorary Fellow of Jesus College, Cambridge and Pembroke College, Cambridge. In July 2010, he was appointed Professor of Music at Gresham College, London, for a four-year term of office. In 2012, he was appointed Andrew D. White Professor-at-Large at Cornell University, for a six year term of office. He was a member of Lowell House Senior Common Room in Harvard University.

In 1989 Hogwood was appointed a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE). He was the recipient of the Halle Handel Prize in 2008.

In 2011, Hogwood was a juror for the Westfield International Fortepiano Competition hosted at Cornell University. This was the first fortepiano competition in the United States and only the second competition of its kind in the world.

Hogwood died in Cambridge on 24 September 2014, aged 73.

Editing work

His editing work included music by composers as diverse as John Dowland and Felix Mendelssohn, and he was chairman of the new edition Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: The Complete Works, which aims to publish a complete edition of C.P.E. Bach's music in 2014.

He was involved with The Wranitzky Project, dedicated to the study and publishing of the music of Paul Wranitzky (1756–1808).

Brahms "discovery"

In 2012 Hogwood's musicological activities came to the attention of a wider public when he announced his discovery of a "previously unknown" piano piece by Brahms. However, it emerged that the work in question, Albumblatt, was already known. The manuscript had been sold at public auction in April 2011, where it was described as "unpublished" and "of great importance," and the manuscript was reproduced in full in the catalog. The work had been given its premiere by Craig Sheppard on 28 April 2011. Sheppard reportedly described Hogwood's claim as 'fatuous'. The first edition of the piece was published in January 2012 on the Pianostreet website. Hogwood's edition of the piece was published by Bärenreiter in February 2012 along with the Horn Trio in E-flat major, Op. 40.

Books written by Christopher Hogwood

  • Hogwood, Christopher (2005). Handel: Water Music and Music for the Royal Fireworks (Cambridge Music Handbooks). Cambridge University Press. ISBN 978-0-521-54486-3.
  • Hogwood, Christopher (1988). Handel. Thames & Hudson Ltd. ISBN 978-0-500-27498-9.
  • Hogwood, Christopher (1979). The Trio Sonata (Music Guides). BBC Books. ISBN 978-0-563-17095-2.
  • Hogwood, Christopher (1980). Music at Court. Gollancz. ISBN 978-0-575-02877-7.


  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts (FRSA), 1982
  • Walter Willson Cobbett Medal from the Worshipful Company of Musicians 1986
  • Honorary Fellow of Jesus College Cambridge 1989
  • Freeman of the Worshipful Company of Musicians 1989
  • Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE) 1989
  • Honorary Doctor of Music Keele University 1991
  • Honorary Fellow of Pembroke College Cambridge 1992
  • Finalist Giovanni Comisso Prize for Biographies 1992
  • Hon RAM Royal Academy of Music 1995
  • Scotland on Sunday Music Prize Edinburgh International Festival 1996
  • Award for Artistic Excellence University of California 1996
  • Distinguished Musician Award Incorporated Society of Musicians 1997
  • Martinů Medal Bohuslav Martinů Foundation, Prague 1999
  • Honorary Doctorate University of Zurich 2007
  • Honorary Doctor of Music Cambridge University 2008
  • Handel Prize Halle 2008
  • Honorary Doctor of Music Royal College of Music 2013


No places


        No relations set

        No events set