Javare Gowda

Please add an image!
Birth Date:
Death date:
Extra names:
D. Javare Gowda
Long-living person, Professor, Teacher, lecturer , Writer
Set cemetery

D. Javare Gowda (6 July 1915 – 30 May 2016) was a Kannada author and winner of the Padma Shri and the Karnataka Ratna and Nadoja awards. He was known as "De Ja Gow" in literary circles. His teachers were T.N. Srikantaiah and Kuvempu.


Gowda was born on 6 July 1915. He was the Vice Chancellor of Mysore University from 1969 to 1975. Prior to that he was Professor of Literature and Director of the Institute of Kannada Studies in the University.

He observed a dawn-to-dusk fast seeking classical language status for Kannada. In October 2015, Gowda and five others returned the Aralu Sahitya prize, awarded to them by the Kannada Sahitya Parishat and Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation in 2011, to protest the perceived delays into the investigation of writer M.M. Kalaburgi's death.

Gowda became a centenarian in 2015 and died in Mysore on 30 May 2016.


  • Pampa Prashasti in 1998
  • Padma Shri in 2001
  • Gorur Award in 2003
  • Karnataka Ratna in 2008


No places


        No relations set

        No events set